Spanish language

The Spanish language is the chief language of Spain as well as many other countries that are former Spanish colonies, mostly in the Western Hemisphere: Mexico, Peru, Uruguay, Argentina, and so on, but also the Philippines. It is an official language of the European Union, the African Union  and the United Nations. Stemming from the Ibero-Romance branch of the Indo-European family, the Spanish language today is spoken by millions of people as a first or second language. Another notable feature of the Spanish language is its many Arabic loan words resulting from the centuries of Muslim presence on the Iberian Peninsula.

Comments are closed.